Listamania

Sometimes I am jealous of my husband, J. When he has free time he knows exactly what he wants to do. A talented musician and photographer, he is never lacking in projects. What he lacks is time… the sob story of parents around the world!

My own hobbies are more nebulous in nature…  I do love to sew and knit, but I also go long periods of time without doing either.

Someone asked me recently what I would do with myself if money and time were not a factor. I had a hard time answering the question.

I love to make lists. At one point in my life I had a notebook of lists. Books to read, places I wanted to eat, tasks to do. I loved making the lists and marking them off as I completed them. The week before J and I got married we hung a giant poster board on the back of our front door with a list of things to do for each day. It was very gratifying to see our progress each day and fun, too, to mark the passage of time until our wedding by listing the errands we still needed to do.

I don’t make lists anymore. My iPhone with its notes feature and electronic calendar have replaced my notebook. I miss my lists, though.

I want to keep thinking about my passions and what makes me happiest (besides my family and friends of course).

Maybe I’ll grab a notebook and start making a list. I know lists aren’t really a hobby. But maybe they can be the tool I need to discover more about myself!

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Small Moments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Listamania

  1. Jeanie says:

    love! at the beginning of each year i make a list of things i want to do (by myself and with the kids). it spans cold days, hot days and all the nice ones in between. from time to time i go over my list and am always happy that i took the (quiet) time to make it.

  2. kim says:

    I love lists too. We have multiple books of list and whiteboard for lists. I also like to write the things we do on a calendar and then at the end of the year around Christmas we go through it and remember all the things we did. Totally fun.

    • mycopyeditor says:

      Every year, when I buy a new calendar for the coming year, I go through the old calendar and transfer the holidays, birthday, anniversaries, etc., of friends and family to the new one. It’s a great review of the year!

  3. mycopyeditor says:

    I’m from a long line of listmakers, and proud to still be able to write legibly with pen, pencil or even do calligraphy! I want something tangible, visible and check-off-able.

Leave a Reply

