Adventures of an advanced beginner

My blogging journey began as an outpost to my Facebook account. Some of the funny things that happened in my life as a mom required more words than the average status update. And this blog was born.

Shortly thereafter, Jett was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome, and this blog quickly morphed into my journal of sorts as I processed what that meant in our lives and to me personally.

However, over the last year I have focused less on his disability, and more on my own journey on our planet. He settled into his childhood with its ups and downs while my inner dialogue shifted to include my growth as a human.

My children are not babies anymore. My youngest, Letty, will be four in just a few months. She has most of her teeth, and can use the toilet by herself, successfully, 90% of the time. My job as a mother is different. All three children went to school this past year. I got a part time job. For the first time in 9 years I regularly to go an office on a set schedule every week.

I started sewing with a passion and creativity I’ve never shown another hobby.

We have lived in our new home for a year now. It no longer feels new, and the neighborhood is starting to feel like home with friends nearby.

I’ve even gotten into a fine routine with the no-poo, something I wasn’t sure was ever going to happen!

And as it turns out, I still have words to write. They won’t be focused on any one topic in particular, but will encompass my life as it is. A life where I find myself an advanced beginner on a few topics.

So stay tuned, if you wish. My musings may not be on something you find yourself called to do, but I do promise this: I will write with honesty, integrity, and a bit of humor where I can find it.

After all, life changes, why can’t blogs?

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Grown People. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Adventures of an advanced beginner

  1. Shelley says:

    I get the jump. Asperger’s is such a scary diagnosis at first. Then James told me something that totally changed my view. “we always knew Andrew was quirky, now we have a name for it. He is still Andrew, putting a label on him doesn’t change who he is and our interaction with him.” Andrew is still just Andrew. We’ve raised him since he was born, so we’ve all grown up together. Life does go on. To me, I am so used to him that it almost is possible to forget. Well, at least until he has a meltdown and I go “oh wait, need some patience here since the Asperger’s is rearing it’s head”

    Now soccer has taken over my life. :-) and PTA.
    Enjoy the twists and turns in the journey, there are more flowers to smell along the way.

  2. And you had me at : ” I will write with honesty, integrity, and a bit of humor where I can find it.” This is indeed the makings of a great blog…writing with honesty and integrity. Sharing your life as it comes. Happy to find your blog. Looking forward to reading more as it comes…

Leave a Reply

