Phineas and Ferb should move in here

I’ll admit, we are late coming to the Phineas and Ferb craze. The kids just discovered it a few weeks ago after watching almost everything else on Netflix.

Today, I really heard the words to the theme song for the first time.

There’s 104 days of summer vacation
And school comes along just to end it
So the annual problem for our generation
Is finding a good way to spend it

Like maybe…
Building a rocket
Or fighting a mummy
Or climbing up the Eiffel Tower…

These kids are fantastic. Their goal for summer vacation is to fit in every adventure before school starts again in the fall. Now, I realize most kids, and parents, say that, but do we really mean it? My idea of adventure this summer is going to the pool every afternoon, and my kids idea of adventure is squeezing in as many video game hours as they can.

Our summer is roughly half way over, and we are bored. Swim team is over. No camps on the horizon. Mom is a terrible planner, and it’s too hot to just wander down to the greenbelt for some hiking.

Now compare us to ole Phineas and Ferb, who every morning wake up to new experiences. Build a rocket ship? Check. Build a coliseum for granny roller derby? Check. Theme park? Check.

The only screens they are interested in are the ones they build themselves.

Then there is Phineas & Ferb’s mom. Blissfully unaware of her kids high-jinks, one episode found her at a neighbors house. During the day. Without her kids. Playing cards.

Sigh.

 The best part of it all? At the end of the day, all signs of any enterprises are wiped off the earth. Period. No mess, no bother.

So, Phineas and Ferb, come on over here. My kids are creative and daring, and with the right leadership would be excellent companions to your summer adventures. Plus, we have a garage full of tools. I’m sure you would be happy here.

I even volunteer to go over to the neighbor’s house to play cards.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Mothering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Phineas and Ferb should move in here

  1. Matthew Fleming says:

    I’m wearing a Perry the Platypus shirt right now. The grown-up jokes in the show are quite good.

  2. Matthew Fleming says:

    Also, fun fact: the theme song is performed by Bowling for Soup, a band originally from Denton, TX.

  3. Chelle says:

    I responded to one of your other older posts today and then I saw this one. Phineas and Ferb is my #1 favorite show so often I feel like Ferb. I am a 21 year old diagnosed severe AS, NVLD, OCD at age 7 and first thing I thought after finding out shortly after was that God was going to make something good from it some day. I still hold onto that belief and I like being this way even if the insomnia is a bit of a pain at times.

Leave a Reply

