Vegetables

In an effort to get more vegetables into my family, and in an effort to eat locally I signed up for a CSA (community supported agriculture). I basically agreed to buy a box of vegetables from a local farm for a certain number of weeks. At first I was totally jazzed. Felt good about feeding my family new stuff, and I got that “green high” from doing something oh so good for the environment, my local economy, etc.

Then I got bored.

See, I am more like a kid than a grown-up when it comes to vegetables. I don’t really like them. I try. But frankly, sugar tastes better. And when it comes to snack time, I’m going to pick chips and salsa or cookies over carrots and hummus every time. Every Time.

So this morning I was confronted with a fridge full of about-to-go-bad veggies. And I started feeling guilty. I made a pesto with most of what was left… spinach, broccoli, parsley. We’ll see if it actually gets used. I hope we do eat it. I like that “green high”.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Mothering and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vegetables

  1. lana says:

    My cousin was feeding her daughter snacks: carrot, celery sticks, and I thought, Wow! But I don’t feed that to my kids because I won’t eat it!

  2. Lauren says:

    So happy you started a blog! I really like your header! Too cute!

    I feel your pain about the veggies! I’m so with you! I’ve started doing three things that have helped me.

    1) GREEN smoothies! I know I’ve told you about this before. Make a normal smoothie and add spinach. SO good.

    2) I buy lots of broccoli crowns, then as soon as I get home I wash and chop them into bite-size pieces. I also buy bagged baby carrots (judge me if you must) and then it’s SOO easy to set out a veggie tray. If nothing else I have broccoli and carrots ready to go- but often add bell pepper slices, too.

    3) I buy two heads of lettuce- red and green leaf- every week and, like the broccoli, wash it as soon as I get home and store it in my salad spinner so it’s ready to go. Then I make the salad in a big bowl adn toss it with dressing BEFORE I put it on my plate. Inevitably I make too much in the bowl and would feel guilty if I let it go to waste, so I eat more than I would if I just fixed it on my plate!

    Those are my tips that I’ve developed int he last few months! 🙂

Leave a Reply

