What goes around….

Before I had three kids, I had two kids. And when the youngest, now my middle, was barely old enough to count, we visited a friend who did have three kids. While the children played in the back, she and I visited in the kitchen. And at one point, the kids started fighting (as they tend to do). Instead of going to check, she started humming. And I admit it: I judged. “If that was me,” I thought, “I would never ignore such fighting. I would immediately go help negotiate a peaceful resolution. I would teach the kids problem solving skills.” I had all sorts of thoughts while my friend hummed and continued cooking lunch.

Flash-forward to today. I’m doing dishes for the umpteenth time (it’s only noon). The boys start fighting. Again. Over who is Superman and who is Spider-man. Again.

And I started humming.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Mothering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What goes around….

  1. Jenny says:

    Good stuff, Julie. Keep writing!

  2. lana says:

    Kinda like when I had one, my son was eating and apple and it fell on the ground (inside the house), and I was going to go rinse it off. My friend (whose house it was, and had 3 kids) replied, “I never bother!”

  3. fiona2107 says:

    hahaha! So true,
    Since my 3rd child was born, I do a LOT more humming than I used to!
    Fi

Leave a Reply

