Why we are always sick

We are having work done on our bathroom, and right now it resembles ET’s house, the later period.

Which means J. and I are sharing a bathroom with the kids, something we haven’t done in quite a few years. And as I was brushing my teeth,  I had an overwhelming urge to hide my toothbrush. I had sudden fear a child was going to pick it up and put it in their mouth. And it occurred to me why we have been getting so sick this winter: my kids have no boundaries.

They honestly see no problem with picking up a cup, and if the contents look pleasing, helping themselves regardless of the original owner. They also have no problem eating each others food, or putting a toy in their mouth then passing it to a sibling. I even saw Letty sucking her thumb, stick it in Jett’s mouth, and then put it back in her own.

How do you teach boundaries like that? We say NOT to share cups, food, and whatnot. But we share. If I’m feeling too lazy to get up and get Carlos a drink of water I offer him a drink of mine. We give each other bites from dessert we are sharing. I’ve even been known to wipe two kids noses with the same kleenex. Gross, I know, but desperate times….

We really can’t live in a cocoon of plastic sheeting, even if the bathroom is already off to a good start. And now I’m going to go the grocery store, where Letty will put her mouth on the cart, and then come home and share her cup with a brother or two. So next week, when we all have colds again…. remind me why.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why we are always sick

  1. Lauren says:

    I am cracking up at the image of Lucy putting her thumb in Jack’s mouth then back in her own! Ha ha!

    Will call you in a bit regarding our earlier conversation!

Leave a Reply

