Square Foot Garden

We decided to grow a garden this year. Since we wanted ease of installation, as well as ease of maintenance, we put in a square foot garden. The premise behind this is a 4 ft by 4 ft raised bed sectioned into 1 ft squares. Each plant gets its own square, and you are able to grow a fair amount of vegetables in a small amount of space. Since my long-term watering skills are iffy, and the kids aren’t any better, this was a good solution for us.

J built the frame for us, and Jett and I went to the nursery and bought plants and seeds. Then I added the dirt and Jett and I built the grid. We planted tomatoes, peppers, beans, corn, marigolds, basil, thyme, oregano, strawberries, and some flowers (Jett picked them, and I can’t remember the name now). Its been a week and so far so good. Some of the seeds still haven’t come up, but I haven’t given up hope yet. After all, it’s only been a week.

The best part of it all is how engaged Jett is in the whole process. We’ll see if he stays interested, but so far he wants everyone to come see our garden. We may end up with another of these soon. Though I don’t know how we will come up with 16 more plants. There aren’t that many more vegetables that we will eat!

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Square Foot Garden

  1. Tiana says:

    You could always plant the same stuff so you have a continual harvest. I try to plant my repeats at least 2 weeks apart from each other.

  2. kim says:

    That is great!! Go Jack! Go Julie! I was going to share this recipe with you to try. I tried it this weekend and it was a hit with everyone – including the toughest test, your brother. He loved them and he has that anti-veg palate as well. http://www.fitsugar.com/Healthy-Recipe-Kale-Chips-7182555

  3. Lauren says:

    WOW! It looks GREAT!!! Think of all the opportunities you’ll have to share with Jack the love and tenderness of teh Lord through the garden. Between watering, weeding, cultivating and enjoying- there are so many avenues to share the love of Christ! Enjoy the work of your hands!

Leave a Reply

