Jett

This has been a good-ish week. And I’m afraid the shoe is going to drop. Or whatever that phrase is. Jett has been in a decent mood, and fairly flexible. Which means the bad is coming. One day he won’t be able to adjust, or cope, or deal. And then he will explode, melt-down, tantrum, whatever you want to call it.

See, Jett is a quirky little fellow. He was a colicky baby. Then a serious baby. Then a toddler who wasn’t able to cope with other kids or stimulating situations (including birthday parties, holidays, preschool, church. You get the picture). Now he’s in first grade and he really has figured out how to get along fairly well. Though he is still a little bit different from his peers. And that leads to testing. He is going to be evaluated for Asperger’s Syndrome. I’m not sure how I feel about it. J says it won’t change him, he is who he is, no matter what we call it. And he’s right. Mostly the label will affect his school career; where he will fit in and how he is taught. But a special ed label is scary and weird and I’m not sure how I feel about it.

He’s excited about the testing. He’s taken two IQ tests so far and thinks they are fun. I think he likes the attention.

I shouldn’t complain. He’s a good kid, smart and funny and sweet to his siblings. He can tell you anything you want to know about Lego Batman.

And right now he’s running around the yard with an orange bucket on his head, trying to make Letty laugh.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Kids. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jett

  1. Suzanne says:

    It sounds like you agreed to the eval rather reluctantly. Perhaps a teacher encouraged you? I have another friend with a 3 yr old she NEEDS evaluated for Asperger’s, but the district has been dragging it’s feet for @14 mos. She finally hired an advocate. I hope I’m right that you’re getting the support you need. And if not, I’ll explore my old SLP contacts to help. Just ask.

  2. allison says:

    Julie- your writing brought me to tears… the struggles we face as mothers— is sometimes, frightening. It is scary to not know what this all means and I am so thankful you can share your journey. We are all int his together, right? You and yours are blessed and amazing… a

  3. Lauren says:

    I hear your fears, concerns, frustrations and love and I LOVE YOU. Will pray for this situtaion specifically over the next week.

  4. Erin Halsey Seely says:

    Julie- I am praying for you! I’ve known you my whole life and seen the struggles that you have gone through and how God had made you a stronger person! I remember when Hope was labeled a “special ed” student in 3rd grade and it is a big pill to swallow BUT with the help that is sounds like you are going to get you can & will make it! I love you and hang in their!

Leave a Reply

