Just you wait

We went to Costco today, and as we were walking in a hip-young-thing almost ran us over. She looked at us contemptuously – cigarette hanging from her lip, indie rock coming from the open car window, and I thought: just you wait…. I used to be very much like you. And look at me now.

What was she doing at Costco anyway? (Doesn’t it suck out a bit of her soul every time she goes… just like me?) Does she need 5 lbs of strawberries too? Does she need cheap organic milk or a giant box of granola bars? She’s definitely not there feeding her children free samples…. no kids in the car; I looked. Maybe she was at the liquor store next door (where are THEIR free samples?)

I started thinking about Saturdays before we had kids. When we didn’t do anything. Slept til noon. Got up, ate a little. Went back to bed. Got back up, showered, and headed out for dinner and drinks. Stayed up way too late, only to sleep in again on Sunday.

Gosh, I miss those days. Yesterday I woke up to a kid climbing in our bed because he had a nightmare. Today the same kid woke me up again to help him build a helicopter. (I wasn’t amused.)

Of course, before I had kids, I didn’t have silly string wars. Nor did I ever truly examine the life and habits of rollie-pollies (pillbugs). I never thought about the color of your light saber signifying whether you are a good or bad guy. And I had forgotten that sometimes there is nothing more comforting than a blankie and your thumb.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Mothering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just you wait

  1. Linda says:

    And you have absolutely summed up parenthood. I wouldn’t have gotten to put dance recital make-up on a squirming 3 year-old, or figure out differnt ways to make forts in the living room, or teach my son how to shave. It’s all in the way you look at it, right?

  2. Debbie LaChance says:

    I totally get it. The same thought has gone through my mind many times over. The best part is that the “wonders” continue even when they are getting older…I love being a Mom of teenagers. We have fun shopping, going to a “chic movie”, teaching them how to wear make-up, do their hair, talk about friendships and boys and of course sex and hormones. It’s fun going through those years again and being able to be on the other side of the fence.
    Loving every minute of it!

  3. Lauren says:

    I know we can’t wait!

    I think God uses marriage, then parenthood, to weed out our selfishness. We’re forced to care more about someone else than ourselves. And He so graciously fills our lives with such joys in marriage and parenting that make it more than worth it. It’s a win-win…. We have the incredible joy and become more Christ-like in the process!

Leave a Reply

