Things are starting to grow

We have corn! Good grief! Who’da thunk it??? Now, it’s not edible yet, and the chances are almost 100% that some critter who doesn’t have opposable thumbs will get to it before we do, but we managed to grow corn.

We have also managed to grow jalapenos, a few tomatoes and some herbs. We did get 2 strawberries, each the size of the tip of my pinky. One strawberry we lost to a critter, and one I made the boys share. You can’t even really call it a bite, it was so tiny. But we grew it. So we ate it.

There were also some failures, I must admit. The flower seeds we planted never came up. Turns out you have to be really diligent about watering seeds. And the marigolds died. Not sure how, supposedly you can’t kill those. But we did. And one of my tomatoes has three really small tomatoes, the other has lots of blooms but no fruit. I looked it up online and apparently I bought the kind of tomato that takes 90-100 days to mature. Now, I’m not entirely sure what that means, but that’s over 3 months!! I’m guessing I’m going to be buying my tomatoes at the farmer’s market again this summer. Bummer.

The beans didn’t come up the first time (again, seeds, water… I’m learning). But we replanted and watered every day (Jett remembered, not me!) And now we have little bean plants. That we need to stake. Because I think we bought the kind that climbs up a pole and we don’t so much have a pole yet.

The bell peppers have blooms, and maybe the beginning of a pepper? I don’t know… we are waiting to see. And those strawberries… oof, they are a lot of work for fruit the size of my fingernail.

I’m considering getting a few more plants. And maybe asking some advice this time instead of just randomly grabbing stuff. Any ideas out there? What has grown well for you?

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things are starting to grow

  1. Jenny says:

    You need to have Ian over for a look-see. He’s a gardener/farmer since childhood. He’s turned my front yard into a 17×17 garden that is a long-held dream come true for me.

    Jen

  2. Lauren says:

    One of my favorite things to do each day is to check out the garden. I LOVE seeing things grow and eating the work of my hands!! Hope y’all enjoyed your sweet strawberry!!!

Leave a Reply

