Bibs

I realized today that I need some baby gifts. Stat. And since I started making gifts for wee ones, I’ve noticed there is a distinct lack of cute stuff for baby boys. I have the same problem with my older boys. Letty is easy to knit and sew for, but the boys….

So I’m working on two problems, really. It needs to be quick to make, and it needs to be appropriately cute for both boys and girls.

I think I found a solution. I was browsing Amy Karol’s Bend the Rules Sewing, and found a cute pattern for a bib. Since all babies need bibs, and they seemed to fit my skill level, I gave it a try. And I have to say, I’m pretty happy with the result. I copied her pattern, and used an old receiving blanket as the backing. It was red gingham flannel, really soft, and unifies the set. The front and back were sewn together wrong sides out, and then turned right side out. I pressed them, zig-zagged around the edge, and I’m going to sew a snap to the straps. And done.

It didn’t take too long either. It took about the same amount of time as 3 kids coloring a picture, 3 kids eating a snack, and 1 kid having a temper tantrum over said snack. The temper tantrum is what kept me from finishing, I didn’t want to be wielding a needle with a screaming child flailing himself at me (see how I look out for my kids?).

This is what they look like. You could get pretty creative with these. I have some other ideas for fabric choices.  You could also applique, stencil, the list goes on. But this was my first effort, and I like ’em.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bibs

  1. Jenny says:

    Those are DARLING!!

    If my friend has a baby boy — we won’t know until a few more months — I want to get some of those from you. Have you thought how much you’ll sell them for?

  2. Lauren says:

    These are adorable! Love them!!

  3. Margaret says:

    Well done! And super cute too.

  4. Katie says:

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

