Testing Results

I think I start almost all my posts with the word so. So I’m not going to start this one that way.

Anyway – we met with the neuropsychologist today to get feedback on Jett’s testing. This is the testing for Asperger’s, ADHD, and other learning disabilities. I didn’t think I was worried about it, but I realized the day before that I had arranged a babysitter for Carlos and Letty so I could have the meeting AND I arranged for a play-date for the small kids so I could have lunch with a friend. It never even occurred to me that I had two distinct plans for the exact same time. So I’m either stressing the appointment, or I’m losing my mind. Really, either is probably a perfectly viable option.

But I digress.

We got Jett’s diagnosis, and he does have Asperger’s Syndrome. A mild case, but still, there it is. I wasn’t really surprised, but I was surprised at how much it bothered me to hear it.

And now we are left with lots of research, lots of thinking about what’s next. We are going to buy some books, we are going to sit down with our nearest and dearest, and we are going to make some jokes (of course). According to the feedback session, Jett is very proficient in using humor. Well duh. Around here that’s like saying he’s proficient in breathing.

So here we are, with this quirky kid. Who is wonderful, and maddening, and just this adventure of a kid. God, I love him. Quirks and all.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Testing Results

  1. Lauren says:

    So….

    We love him, too!!! And knowing more about him will allow us to love him to a greater capacity and in a more complete way. I’m sorry for a diagnosis- for the ickyness of a label- but I’m glad for the information it will give you and the support you will give and recieve to other Moms, Dads and kids dealing with the same frustrations.

    We love you and Jack SO much and wish we were there to give you a huge hug.

  2. Jenny says:

    I have someone I want you to meet … he’s just like Jack. You might even know him and his parents from the church…

    Love,
    Jen

Leave a Reply

