Martini shorts

I’m on a sewing streak. I can’t help it. I got some awesome fabric last week (more on that soon) and now I can’t keep away from the old Kenmore.

Those who have read previous posts know I’m always on the search for fun stuff for boys. Because apparently fabric and pattern designers don’t think boys need home-stitched items. And for the most part, they are right. I can’t see either of my boys wearing a shirt I made. But, shorts are a different story. Both boys are still young enough (and fashion clueless enough) to believe that the brighter the clothes, the more awesome they are. Several pairs of neon colored shorts have gotten “lost” over the last summer or two.

Since I’ve never sewn shorts before, I went to Hancock and picked up a pattern. For Carlos, I grabbed Kwik Sew 2858. The picture on the front of pattern is hilariously creepy. Who designs these pictures???

Luckily the shorts are much cuter in real life. And as I was cutting the fabric J noticed that the pattern (which I previously viewed a modern-arty blobs) features deconstructed martini glasses.  Which is awesome. Who doesn’t want their 4-year-old dressed in barware?

The shorts were much easier than I expected, and much more polished than I expected. The fabric and the tailoring in the pattern fabric keep them from being too goofy. Which is good; I really didn’t want Carlos to end up looking like that pattern picture.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Martini shorts

  1. Lauren says:

    You are so good!

Leave a Reply

