Cleaning the nest

I think I have mentioned in the past I am not a saver. Yet my house is full of stuff. We don’t have a large house, and with no garage and no attic, storage is TOUGH to come by. Which means I purge semi-regularly and try not to buy too much stuff. But then my niece sent me a link to this blog. Oh my goodness. How inspiring is this??? And now I have visions of paring down to just the essentials. In my head I am going to start at one end of the house and start emptying. Then work my way room by room til I have a house that is completely organized. Though in reality I am so NOT organized that the whole project is just daunting. I just wasn’t born with the clean gene. Or the organized gene. Or the planning gene. (Really, I have planned not one but TWO vacations where I forgot to buy our airfare).

But we got a new couch last week and for a bit anyway I have house pride again. This may be another symptom of my kids getting older and me leaving the I-have-small-kids-everything-is-a-crisis mode of my life.

I long for a house like Clover Lane. One where you open a drawer and only find 3 items. I don’t know if I can do it. But gosh, wouldn’t it be lovely?

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Kids, Mothering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cleaning the nest

  1. Lauren says:

    SO glad you like the Clover Lane blog!! She’s awesome- and quite inspiring.

    And yes… it WOULD be lovely!!!

Leave a Reply

