Popover Sundress

I admit it. I love Oliver and S patterns. Yes, they are expensive, and the pictures look completely old fashioned, but I do love them. And they do provide well written directions that even this newbie can follow. AND, on their website, they have free patterns. Just a few, mind you, but there they are. Waiting for me to sew them.

I’ve made the Popover Sundress twice now. And it’s cute. The first time I made it, I used a pique fabric that promptly shrunk. Bah. So I made it again, this time with Alexander Henry’s Yui Kokeshi fabric, a very cute Geisha print. I made it a bit big, and made sure to wash my fabric first. Luckily, it turned out exactly as I planned, a bit big. Letty is wearing it as a swim suit cover up right now, and as she grows, she will wear it as a dress. I’m thinking at some point I will make bloomers with the cherry blossom print to match the yoke.

And, just now when I was looking for the link to the dress for this post, I saw they have posted another new free pattern. Hmmm…. I wonder what fabric would make this really cute top?

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Popover Sundress

  1. Lana says:

    Cute fabric! Saw this dress I LOVED but it was $400, and thought, wonder if Julie could make this?

  2. Jenny says:

    That fabric is DARLING!

  3. Bree says:

    Darling!! I want one!

Leave a Reply

