Girls weekend

I’m going away with friends this weekend for the first time in seems like forever. Needless to say, I’m very excited. I will miss my family, of course, but that distance is oh-so-nice to have every once in a while. As I told J the other day – people tell me I will miss these days when the kids are grown, but some days I’m not convinced 🙂

So anyway – I’m packing for this trip, and wow the difference is amazing. Packing for a family is an all-encompassing job. Not only are there clothes for 5 people but there are all the specialty items: blankies, books, stuffed animals, toothbrushes for kids (and 3 types of toothpaste), jackets if it’s cold, swimsuits if it’s hot. Extras for any situation (kids are messy), and diapers. Good grief, I’ll be so happy when diapers don’t make the packing list.

But my suitcase duffel for this weekend? Swimsuit, flips, shorts. I think I’m bringing more wine and snacks than anything else.

I’m sure there’s an analogy in there about complicated suitcases and families, but I’m not feeling very complicated today. I’m just going to go enjoy my weekend.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Mothering. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Girls weekend

  1. metalmommy says:

    Oooh, have a great time! You deserve it!

  2. RR says:

    Have fun, kid! You’ve earned it. 🙂 Love the blog, BTW. You’re the bees’ knees!

Leave a Reply

