I made another skirt (and some shorts)

I know, SHOCKER! But this skirt is cute (aren’t they all?) And it has a lining, and pockets, and shirring at the waistband (I’m impressing myself all over again just thinking about it).

Actually, it has been quite easy. So far the hardest part has been getting my machine to the shop to be serviced. I just never could muster up the energy to make that happen. But I finally did, and now the old Kenmore is performing as well as ever.

So I picked another skirt from yet another cool blog. And the designer is my neighbor (not that I realized that when I started). It seems funny to me that I’m going all the way into cyber-space for a pattern by a woman who lives 5 streets down from me.

I just used a cheery (and cheap) fabric from Hobby Lobby. Which is why I had to pick a pattern that was lined. Unless I wanted all the kids at the playground to see my underpants (as the boys call them).

And I did finish it in just a couple of days. The gathering was more of a pita than I expected, but it was manageable. The gathering also makes the skirt a bit more poofy than I usually wear, but it’s cute in a retro 1950s kinda way.

I do have a pair of shorts I made…trying to get away from skirts. They are really cute – the fabric is incredible! It’s a linen blend with scooters (!). I just don’t love the pattern I used. I bought a commercial pattern with a drawstring trying to avoid learning how to make a buttonhole. But really, I just need to suck it up and figure it out. What mom with her baby-pooch needs extra fabric and a drawstring there? I need no help making my middle look bunchy.

So I’m going to get more of the fabric and make more tailored shorts. Because I could live in an entire wardrobe of these shorts. The fabric is just that incredible.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I made another skirt (and some shorts)

  1. Lauren says:

    cute cute cute! I love skirts!!! I wore shorts recentely and felt strange b/c it’d been so long since I wore them! I’m so impressed, Jules!

  2. metalmommy says:

    SO cute!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

