Summer colds suck

As I mentioned in an earlier post, it’s been a nutty week around here. Not only was J gone all week, but I had one of those wicked summer colds. You know, the kind where you wake up feeling like you’ve swallowed broken glass. And it goes downhill from there. I went to the doctor twice and each time was assured that it was a virus, and I would simply have to wait it out. Yay. Great news.

And then the inevitable happened. Even with all my precautions, I passed along my germs. I personally blame the iPhone. You know that touch screen is a mess of nastiness. And Jett loves to play games on it. So now he has fever, a sore throat, and congestion. I’m sure there are worse things than an Aspie kid with a cold, but it ranks right up there on the list of Stuff I Would Rather Avoid.

This time though I’m looking at it with my “sensory lens”. And I realize he can’t nap on the couch like the rest of us when we are sick because he really can’t. It isn’t that he doesn’t want to, but he can’t filter all the family noise around him to settle down to sleep anywhere but his bed (where he has a noise machine). Eating becomes even more problematic. He complains about the taste of the Motrin. (Really? I had to suffer through Robitussin as a kid. I don’t have much sympathy on this one.)

Most of this is what every kid does when they are sick. Whining and crying is the name of the game when you don’t feel good. J even goes so far as to suggest he gets it from me. As if! But with Jett it’s just a little bit more than the other two. A little more intense. I just try to imagine how I felt last week, and multiply it by ten.

And somehow that makes me a little more patient.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer colds suck

  1. akbutler says:

    I always say the only thing more frustrating than a kid with sensory issues is a kid with sensory issues when he’s sick. Everything is harder and every sensory issue is heightened – taste (medicine), smell (or lack thereof), touch (who wants to touch a sick kid when all he wants is to be held). And of course, when you’re sick, it’s just ickier because moms don’t get sick days. Hang in there and I hope you’re all better soon.
    Alysia
    http://trydefyinggravity.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

