Never say never

You know how you say things like “I would NEVER do that”…. looking at my latest sewing/knitting projects I can’t help but roll my eyes at myself.

First up: the first time I flipped through the Alabama Stitch Book by Natalie Chanin my thoughts went something like this “hand-sew clothing? That’s crazy! Who would do something so ridiculous as that?” Uhh… me, apparently.

Another evening as I was browsing through the first book by those good ladies over at Mason Dixon, I stopped at the log cabin section. Knit an entire log cabin blanket??? By hand?? Oh, that way madness lies. Until you realize you have 2 storage bins of partial skeins of yarn, none of which is enough for an entire project. Unless they each become a log cabin stripe.

And then there are quilts. Why on earth would anyone want to make a quilt, when there is a plethora of beautiful bedding at any number of stores, just waiting to be taken home?

Don’t worry, the quilt is getting its own post Coming Soon to a Blog Near You. It’s been a beast of a project.

The reason I’m thinking about never saying never? I’m hearing from lots of moms both in the online world and in my live-action world who are considering home-schooling. And I gotta say I LOVE sending my kid(s) to school. And this wouldn’t even be a question, except I LOVE our summer routine. So I’m thinking more, and learning more.

And if I can knit a blanket, hand-stitch an applique skirt, and make a freaking queen size quilt, perhaps I could home-school too. But perhaps I should stick to textiles and leave the schooling to the experts.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Mothering, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Never say never

  1. Lauren says:

    Ummm…do you realize that Lisa has JUST started a homeschooling series on her blog? How providential!!!! In fact- I”m the guest-poster tomorrow!!! She’s in that same boat of having said NEVER in the past and is now “open to considering” it! I was in the same boat for a while, but have come to the other side.

    Check it out: http://cheerfullychaotic.blogspot.com/

  2. Lauren, I read Lisa’s blog right before I wrote mine. I’ve been hearing ALOT about this all summer. I’m interesting in reading your post tomorrow 🙂

  3. Meredith says:

    Your quilt is coming along beautifully! I can’t wait to see the finished project. Which do you like most sewing clothes, quilt, or knitting?

  4. Mere- sewing clothes is very rewarding. Though I now own more skirts than anything else (except maybe t-shirts)! Knitting is great – but kinda hot in the summer. And it’s SLOW! It takes me weeks/months to finish one project depending on the size. Quilting so far isn’t my favorite, but it is also very rewarding. That queen-sized duvet is like lugging around a body, and it’s hard to find a good spot to lay it out to work on it. It’s just so darn big! I think my next quilting project will be much smaller, and we will see how I feel about it!

Leave a Reply

