Countdown to real life

School starts here in just a few weeks. In fact, we meet with Jett’s teacher today for a back-to-school evaluation. I’m looking forward to it. He already knows and likes this year’s teacher, and is looking forward to his new class. I realize for an Asperger’s kid this is nothing short of a miracle.

I’ve really been enjoying all the kids lately. August for Texas is what I imagine January is for you folks up north. The weather is so extreme there is really nothing to do but hunker down in the a/c and wait it out. So we have had LOTS of quality time lately (the quality may be questionable, but we have been together a TON!) And I feel I have personally grown some this summer – trying to meet my children where they are is a life lesson I can apply to all people I encounter.

And then there’s homeschooling. Like giving up gluten, homeschooling is apparently the Thing To Do in my city. I talked to three families yesterday who are either going to homeschool this coming year, or have in the past. And one of the lessons I learned is it doesn’t have to be a forever commitment. Two of the families are going to do it this year only, and then evaluate what worked and what didn’t. And then take it year by year. Huh. That’s pretty sound. Isn’t that what we all should do anyway? Instead of me getting locked in on one school solution, maybe I should consider that homeschooling for a year or two might be what works for our family. Or not.

And no. I’m not homeschooling this year. I have a two-year old at home. I’m not doing that to myself! But middle school… maybe a little Aspie homeschool bubble won’t be such a bad thing.

We are simply going to take it year by year. Now why didn’t I think of that sooner??!

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Kids, Mothering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Countdown to real life

  1. akbutler says:

    Interesting thought…homeschooling was never in my head at all, until today. I can’t let one bad day at summer preschool cloud my thinking, but you’re totally right. We need to take things year by year and always re-evaluate what’s best.
    Homeschooling might kill me though. 🙂

    • It might just kill me too. I’m not sure I’m ready for THAT much together time. And then there’s the separation of parent/teacher. How do you manage that boundary? Anyway – that’s what’s on my mind 🙂

  2. Lauren says:

    EXCELLENT idea!!!!

    You might want to call me…

Leave a Reply

