My rest is over

Ha! Like I’ve been resting around here…

BUT I have been viewing my summer as a Sabbath. This is a recent opinion, of course, but in reflection a Sabbath is exactly what it was.

The school year is just so busy. There are lunches to make, assignments to complete, reading every night, regular baths to take, and early mornings. And this is with just one in school and one in preschool.

So back to the Sabbath – to define what I mean, a Sabbath is a designated time of rest that happens on a schedule. Every Saturday in the Jewish faith (Sunday for Christians) we are expected to have a day of rest. A day to reflect on our blessings. Now, with three small kids there isn’t much reflecting going on, I gotta tell you. There are still meals to prepare, clothes to wash, toys to pick up. We do have a different rhythm on the weekends, Sunday in particular, and I’m still toying with the idea of making Sunday a family day – no birthday parties or other outside obligations; only church and trying to relax with each other.

This summer I was very deliberate in not scheduling anything. Now of course, with Jett’s love of the routine, we still had our daily calender, and a few outings we did over and over, but we never HAD to be anywhere. We settled into our own rhythm: breakfast, swimming, lunch, quiet time. And lots of playing. This slowing down was good for me. I don’t know if it really benefited anyone else in the family – though I would love to think so – but it really helped me.

Now don’t misunderstand me – we have had just the same amount of tantrums, cycles of behavior, and sensory issues as during the school year. Jett’s Asperger’s unfortunately didn’t go on Sabbath. I hope that I was able to deal with things a bit better (though I’m thinking it was the late nights drinking margaritas with J that really helped). I do think I was able to try and understand him a bit better. Starting this blog has helped, as have the other moms and dads I’ve met (both in the live-action world and in the blogging world) who struggle with ASD.

As my Sabbath comes to an end (school starts tomorrow) I mourn its loss. But I know it will be back. Next summer.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Small Moments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My rest is over

  1. Lauren says:

    Awesome idea. Great for the whole family.

    (I love Sundays…)

  2. Megan says:

    I don’t know… it may cause them to resent Sundays pretty fast.

Leave a Reply

