Fall crafting

There is a nip in the air It’s finally cooler than 100 degrees, and with the fall air comes a renewal in crafting. I have a few projects in progress, feel free to take a look.

At last count, I made myself 6 skirts this summer. You can’t say I’m not thorough in my learning: I am fairly confident that I can make a skirt. As long as it is a-line. And has an elastic waist. And is roughly knee length.

So I’m branching out into tops. I wear lots of t-shirts, so this is a stretch, both to sew and to work into my very casual wardrobe. The first one I completed was an Amy Butler pattern. I don’t love it – I don’t know if the pattern was hard to figure out because I’m new to this type of sewing, but it was challenging in spots. The finished garment looks ok, I really love the ribbon detail on the underneath of the hem (not my idea, but really cute and clever)

I’m also working on another pattern, one I picked up on Friday (I do love the $0.99 pattern sales). I’ve only managed to cut it out and start the first few seams. We’ll see how it goes. I had to stop when it asked me to pin together the princess seams. They didn’t seem to go together at all, and I decided to try again later.

I’m also working on a second quilt. We need a picnic blanket, and I fell in love with a fabric collection I found online. I’m using an Oh Fransson pattern I found also online (with size modifications). The first school picnic is in two weeks. It would be nice to have it finished by then.

This past weekend I spent time with my two best friends growing up. I don’t think the three of us have spent extended quality time just us (no families) in twenty years. Since I can’t just sit still and visit, I brought some knitting with me. It’s simply more portable than my Kenmore and sewing basket. AND I’ve been trying to finish this certain pair of socks since last Christmas. I definitely have a case of 2nd sock syndrome. I knit the first one in about a week. The second is taking, well, significantly longer.

My friends mentioned they never expected me to end up so domestic. Yup. Me neither.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fall crafting

  1. Paige says:

    I thought that that blouse was really cute when you wore it the other day!

  2. Bree says:

    LOVE the top! Nice work, doll!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

