Food is not our friend

tourism map dining restaurant symbol

Image via Wikipedia

I was a picky eater as a kid. I didn’t enjoy being at other people’s homes during meal time for fear of going hungry. I didn’t like eating at restaurants either, for much the same reason. And I would rather be hungry than eat something I didn’t like. Of course, 30ish years later I don’t have that problem AT ALL. There is nothing I would rather do than eat somewhere I don’t have to shop for, prepare, or clean up after the meal.

But, and I swear my mother cursed me, I have a child just like me. Food is his enemy. Meal time used to be the absolute WORST time of the day. At least once a week I would be outside on the porch crying angry, frustrated tears because I had cooked a meal that I swore he would like just to have him take one look, declare it gross, and refuse to even try it.

We did finally consult a nutritionist. One who specializes in helping kids on the autism spectrum. And her techniques really helped. He doesn’t really eat much more than he did before she came, but he at least doesn’t complain. And he does put food on his plate. Which means the younger two no longer refuse food just because their older brother does. Baby steps, right? Who she really helped was me. I no longer feel like a failure as a parent if he doesn’t eat dinner. And at her request, we had him checked for all sorts of vitamin and mineral deficiencies. And you know what? He is perfectly healthy. So as it turns out, the food pyramid may be a tad overrated.

I know many families swear by gluten-free/casein-free for their kids with Autism or Asperger’s. It doesn’t work for our family for a variety of reasons. Not the least of which is milk is one of Jett’s only sources of protein. But I digress. I suppose the point of this whole post is sometimes I forget. Sometimes I forget not to care what he’s eating. Sometimes I find myself working my way back into those angry tears. I have to physically remind myself (or J has to remind me) that my job is to provide healthy food, and that’s it.

After all, I was a picky eater too. And I turned out okay.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Kids and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Food is not our friend

  1. Attagirl. I was a picky eater, and my granddaughter is too. If she doesn’t want the food we serve her, even the food she ordered, no big deal: the rest of us eat it. When she’s hungry later, she gets to fix her own meal. So sometimes she eats with us and sometimes she eats by herself. She’s happy and healthy, and just as quirky as her grandma!

  2. Julie– I have several great, kid- AND adult-friendly gluten-free recipes that my daughter loves. My MIL has celiac disease and so we do a lot of GF cooking and eating when we’re all together. Let me know if you need some easy ideas!

  3. Amy Schochler says:

    My younger child has made me want to cry after I prepared many a meal (though I don’t put in as much effort as you)! I did master panko breaded chicken tonight and my husband even complimented it!

  4. akbutler says:

    are you sure you don’t live in my house?
    I can’t even count the number of meals both my husband and I have made that my son won’t eat (even though he said he would). I used to get so upset, but I realized that not only would it not solve anything, it just ramped him up even more. Now, if he eats anything, I’m happy. The kid is so tiny, but if he has a smoothie and goldfish for dinner I call it a small victory.
    The GFCF diet won’t work for us either. If I take milk/cheese/bread/yogurt away, my son will be eating dust. (of course, there’s plenty of that around here…)

Leave a Reply

