Sew fun

We’ve had a busy month, what with school starting and the new schedule that brings. I have found a bit of time to sew still, thank goodness. My mind might go completely mad without it.

I did finally finish my green tunic/top. I used Simplicity Project Runway pattern 2927 and some quilting weight cotton. I certainly learned a few things… princess seams, facings on cuffs and neck bands, and a bit about fitting. I think I’m going to take a pattern drafting class at the local fabric store. Patterns “off the rack” just don’t fit perfectly and part of sewing for myself is I should be able to achieve a custom fit, right?

Hmmm… what else did I learn? Oh – American Sportswear is my category. Turns out sportswear as a fashion category doesn’t mean Adidas track suits. True [fashion] American Sportswear is a step up from the t-shirts and skirts that define my “look”. I’m never going to be a couture girl and I’m ok with that.

Oh, and once last piece of news on the sewing front: for my birthday this week J got me a new sewing machine! I’ve been using my mother-in-law’s machine. And while it has been a great machine for me, I must admit the computer functions on the new one are very exciting (and a little intimidating!) Now I just have to pull it out of the box and figure it out. Can’t wait for nap time to give it a try!

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sew fun

  1. Meredith says:

    The top turned out great? Is that you wearing it? It looks like your house so I bet it is. Anyway, I’m impressed. Congrats on moving on from skirts!

  2. That top looks great! As for American Sportswear, as soon as I read that, I thought, “That’s Sue Sylvester’s category of clothing!” 🙂

  3. Christine says:

    Lovely result. Can I borrow that pattern? You know I can’t wear that color, or I would just borrow your blouse. Wow!

  4. Debbie says:

    Girl that looks great! Good job!

  5. Lauren says:

    This is fabulous, Jules!!! You are so good!! Yea for J getting you such a fabulous present!

  6. Rhiannon says:

    You mean you don’t want to hear my long diatribe on sportswear vs athletic wear? It has Nazis in it!

  7. fiona2107 says:

    You are just SO clever!
    Well done!

Leave a Reply

