How to ask for what you need

I have a book I’m reading, A Search for What is Real: Finding Faith by Brian McLaren. Truth be told, I’m reading this book for the second time. I bought this right after Jett was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome, and I wasn’t reading comprehending much. Usually I read my theology books before bed, they help me relax and sleep better (insert joke here about boring religion books!) But this summer as I reeled from the diagnosis and what this meant for our family, pharmaceuticals were the only thing helping me sleep! So I’m going to claim progress that I’m back to reading my books at night.

Anyway – this isn’t a book review. I’m only on chapter 2. And I’m not sure what I think about the book anyway. But he does have a story that rings true and I thought it worth another thought. He tells a story about a couple going through a personal trauma, and them seeking a few friends to have dinner with on a weekly basis for about a year. In the story he reveals no problems were solved, and most times the trauma wasn’t even discussed. But God was present in that community. And healing took place.

Everyone copes differently. Some lose themselves in work. Some eat Oreos and or drink wine. Some exercise. Some blog.

But I think there is wisdom is seeking your community. Asking for friends to be with you as you struggle and learn. Intentional presence. That may be the greatest gift no one knows how to ask for.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Grown People and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to ask for what you need

  1. Paige says:

    I’ve heard that Brian McLaren is really great. He’s friends with my friend Jay Bakker. Can I borrow it when you’re done?

Leave a Reply

