Score one for public school

As some of you may remember, I have been debating the home school/public school debate (inside my head, mostly, but that still qualifies as a debate, yes?)

Each has many advantages and at one point I had grand plans to write a pro and con list for each. Needless to say, that never happened. Instead I had one of my becoming infamous panic attacks and I decided to drop the whole issue for now.

This week, I got an email from Jett’s teacher.  One of the teacher interns was leaving, and there was going to be a dance party in his honor before school started the next day. So kids were asked to come a few minutes early to the cafeteria to dance a dance they had all learned from this intern (he was interning in PE).

I almost didn’t even mention it to Jett. A crowded dance party? Loud music, chaos? AND being at school early? I didn’t figure any of these were on his to-do list for the day/week/year. But I did mention it as we were walking to school. Very casually I said there’s a dance party in the cafeteria. Would you like to go there or straight to your classroom?

Not only did he want to go to the dance party, but as we walked in, he shed his jacket and backpack and ran out into the middle with the other boys from his class. Then he proceeded to do the Cha Cha Slide (I kid you not) with all the other kids. I wish you could have seen him, smiling, clapping and shaking his booty with all those other boys.

I would have NEVER taught him to dance if I was teaching him at home. This is an experience school provides – the chance to do something that may not be your specific interest or aptitude, but that’s fun anyway.

Remember the Mastercard commercial a few years ago? The one with the kids dancing? This week, that was Jett.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Score one for public school

  1. Lauren says:

    How I wish I would have seen that!!!! I’d love to see him out there laughing and dancing! How fun!

    I wouldn’t place too much emphasis on the fact that the school provided that experience. Ha! For me that’s an experience WEDDINGS provide! 🙂 🙂 In truth, you’d provide unique experiences, too. It’s a trade off!

    I’m so glad he had so much fun!

  2. Thanks for including those videos. I hadn’t seen them and found myself doin’ the cha-cha slide in front of my desk!

    Delightful, and way to go, Jett!

    Jen

  3. Kim says:

    That is awesome. So happy for both of you!!

  4. Christine says:

    I think school provides more exposure to a number of activities, good and bad, because it forces you into the public sphere for many more hours per year. As long as your emotional and physical health does not suffer too much from this exposure, I think it makes you stronger in unexpected and valuable ways.
    I am really proud of you for giving Jett the chance to decide. He made an excellent decision! Oh, yeah, he’s cool.

Leave a Reply

