Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Bibs

I’ve been thinking a lot about babies lately (not my own, thank goodness). And I’ve been thinking about bibs (I know, random). I never cared much for the bib with my own three babies. They never seemed to do the job they were supposed to do. Plus they were hideously ugly.

I had some fabric I was playing around with – a laminated cotton by Heather Ross. It’s not the thick stuff that doesn’t bend, this fabric is pretty and drapey, and seemed perfect for something kid-like.

In an effort to combat what I didn’t like in a bib, I made these oversized bibs out of gorgeous fabric, and they reverse to the laminated cotton. These are big, so they really should keep your kid from getting dirty at mealtime, and the laminate will keep wet spills from soaking through onto clothes.

Now I just need a baby to try these out. Any volunteers?

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bibbidi-Bobbidi-Bibs

  1. Lauren says:

    me,me! (Abigail is raising her hand!) 🙂

  2. Megan says:

    working on it…

  3. Christine says:

    Super cute! How many are you prepared to make and how much do you charge?

  4. Lisa says:

    I LOVE them! So cute!!! I’d volunteer my kids, but Lauren would hurt me if I took them away from Abigail…

    Idea: Is there any way to put snaps on them? Snap bibs are my favorite (along with those that go on like the neck and front half of T-shirts (just discovered those!) because then kids can’t yank them off and they never get stuck/knotted.

  5. Sure, you can sew snaps on them. I usually do, but my hand sewing isn’t very pretty so this time I did ribbons. I hate velcro because the kids pull them right off. Of course, when I washed one of these, the dye in the ribbon ran and stained the fabric. So now I have to make more. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

