Surviving

Do you think in hyperbole? I do, of course. It’s the way I was made. So when I expressed to a friend this week that this year has been maybe the toughest in my life I didn’t think too much about the statement itself. Her reaction took my by surprise. She was so shocked I felt that way. Which made me reconsider. Yes, this has been a tough year… since January we have had some hard times. But we have also had so many instances of grace through it all.

When I was incapacitated this past spring due to some health issues, we had more help then we ever expected. People showed up with food, they came and took care of our kids, and they did our laundry. They even organized all the help so I wouldn’t have to do it! Friends called, emailed, and just stopped by to visit.

When Jett was diagnosed there were similar reactions. People just wanted to know what they could and can do to help. Same with Letty’s health issues (which have luckily resolved for now).

There is so much grace out there waiting to be seen and experienced. But it’s easy to overlook, isn’t it? Life  is tough. Some days your friend won’t play with you on the playground, even though he promised he would just the day before (Jett’s worry today). Where’s the grace in that, you ask? I don’t know. But I do know that as Jett tells the story, his brother and sister hear it, and they make sure to play with him (for the next few minutes, anyway).

 

 

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Mothering, Small Moments and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surviving

  1. Leslie says:

    so beautiful! i was thinking the same thing tonight. As I was recounting all the grief this year has brought our family I was also remembering all the beautiful people who’ve made it bearable. what a crazy dance this life thing is.

  2. akbutler says:

    out of grief and tough times does come some moments of joy where you don’t expect it. that picture is definitely one of them. adorable.

  3. Lauren says:

    It most certainly HAS been a difficult year. How incredible to look back and see all the times His Grace carried you. I like to create mental “altar stones” for those times, to call to mind later. You can remember all the times He was faithful and helped you through ___. He will continue to be faithful!

Leave a Reply

