A fall dress

Several years ago, before I sewed, a friend gave me lots of yards of red corduroy. She was cleaning out her fabric stash (why she had 4 yards of red corduroy only she can answer), but I was happy to have it. I’ve used it for the last three years as my Christmas tree skirt. I just draped all that yardage around the base of my Christmas tree, and it was great.

I’m going to have to find a new tree skirt.

I’ve been admiring the corduroy at the fabric store, and realized I had yards of it already at home. I found some really pretty linen embroidered trim, and decided to make Letty a dress.

I didn’t like any of the patterns I was finding… they were all too busy, or to involved, or too something. So I pulled out a jumper she already had in her closet, and copied it. I used the basic shape, and added my trim where the yoke meets the skirt.

The geometry of it all does get hard for me. I decided to put a facing in the bodice, and it got a little wonky. I think I’m going to need a book to walk me through garment sewing if I’m going to keep making stuff up like this. But it worked, and I finished the hem with that linen trim on the inside, where it’s a little more subtle.

I’m really happy with the dress. It was fun.

Even if it does mean the Christmas tree will have to wear something else.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A fall dress

  1. Rhiannon says:

    I love it. Now you can make her some corduroy pants so I can call her “whistlebritches” which is my favorite nickname in the world!

  2. Dearna says:

    That is just so cute.I am always super impressed by people who can sew or knit or pretty much do anything crafty.

  3. Lauren says:

    I LOVE IT!!! And I love your intro to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

