Playing as a job

Now I’m no Nostradamus, but I did predict this week. When I wrote 9 days ago about feeling good, I joked that I was jinxing myself.

Sigh.

Jett is in a threesome of friends that are struggling to understand how to be friends with three people without someone being left out. Teaching an Aspie how to be friends is hard! I mean, that’s the whole crux of the disease, right? He doesn’t get social cues, or show empathy. He has a hard time managing emotions and behavior. And now he has the hardest of the friendship dynamic: three. A trio of friends.

Luckily these are good kids with good parents, so I’m confident we will be able to negotiate the social landmines that are cropping up. But teaching your kid how to be a good friend? I gotta say, this is one skill I never imagined I would have to teach!

Jett was telling me a story about the playground this week. He asked two boys if he could play with them. They said yes, and told him the “rules” to their game. But he didn’t understand and was embarrassed to ask for clarification. So he walked away and wandered the playground alone the rest of recess.

He will learn how to manage the playground a bit better. Of this I am hopeful.

In the meantime, we will keep offering lots of love. And lots of time for him to play with his siblings. It’s the best classroom we can offer right now.

 

 

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Playing as a job

  1. Lauren says:

    This is not unique to Aspergers- though it makes it that much harder, I know. As a first grade teacher, I can assure you that threesomes creep up in EVERY classroom and are one of the most challenging things to work through. I’m so glad all three kids have on-board parents to help!!

    I’m trying to think of a Biblical story that might help. Maybe when James and John were arguing over who would sit at Jesus’ right hand? Mark 10:35-45ish (The answer being humility and sacrifice) I don’t know…will have to ponder more!

  2. His experience of getting “in” with the group, then not understanding the rules and being afraid to ask for clarification, and deciding to walk away instead sounds a lot like something I would have done at that age. Why? Because I had already learned that when I did ask I was ridiculed as stupid, a dummy, a dopehead. In other words, not wanted. So I’d leave before I could be told I was unwanted.
    I don’t have Asperger’s; I was just having my childhood.

    Jenny

Leave a Reply

