Black Friday

Is anyone out there a big Black Friday shopper? For any readers in other countries, Black Friday is the day after Thanksgiving where stores put on massive sales for shoppers looking for Christmas deals. It has become really crazy, with stores opening at 5am or earlier.

Searching the news today, the Black Friday deals are all the rage. And since we have some expensive toys on our list this year, I thought I would peruse the ads.

I was unimpressed.

I didn’t see any “deals” worth the hassle of getting up uber-early and fighting crowds. The prices appear to be 20% off retail. And I suppose if you are looking for electronics or other items that rarely go on sale, you might feel some excitement by 20% .

I wonder, though, if it isn’t the hunter-gatherer in us that is attracted to the Black Friday sales. I did once stand in line at Target to buy a Wii the year they were hard to find. I managed to get one (for my brother even, much to the chagrin of J). I felt pretty triumphant too. Like I had achieved some major coup.

The marketer in me thinks the whole thing is a gimmick. The deals aren’t that great. With three kids, I have a fairly long list, and I gotta say: nothing on it is featured in those Black Friday ads. I looked.

So unless someone is discounting those blasted DS’s I’m going to skip the mayhem. It will at least lessen my chances of being trampled by a throng of crazy shoppers. And in addition to leftover turkey sandwiches with stuffing and cranberry sauce, that’s something I can look forward to.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Grown People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

