Waiting

Waiting. The word implies
waiting for something
particular.

These are the words that greeted me last night at a women’s group meeting at my church. The theme was of course Advent, and the anticipation of the birth of Christ. We were to read a poem about waiting and discuss (at least I assume these were the directions. I came in late).

The big irony to me about Advent is the supposition that we are to slow down and wait for the Christ-child. In December? Are they kidding? My calendar is packed like no other month in December, and I know I’m not alone in that.  Really, church and society collide like crazy here. Somehow in between the Christmas chapels, school parties, family parties, neighborhood parties, cooking, cleaning, baking, shopping, planning, decorating, and still parenting, we are supposed to slow down and wait?

At my table of wise women last night (it’s funny how I always manage to sit down at a table full of wise women) I heard lots of ways to wait. In traffic. While your small person puts his shoes on (all by himself). The last month of pregnancy (not that I have to worry about that one anymore!) But during my day there is always at least once that I am waiting. For something. And instead of fuming and getting impatient I can stop. And just wait.

Waiting. The word implies
waiting for something
particular.
Listening. The word implies
listening to something
in particular.
But what if our waiting
and our listening
are no more than
waiting, and listening?
Sometimes we wait to see
what will happen.
And listen in case we hear
the voice of God.
Unknown

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Grown People, Small Moments and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Waiting

  1. Jenny says:

    Ooo, Julie, you’re such a good writer! Thanks for this.

  2. Lauren says:

    I know a lot about waiting! Does waiting always imply waiting FOR something? I used to really struggle with how to wait gracefully. I read in one of my favorite books- Calm My Anxious Heart by Linda Dillow- that we should wait like a rocking chair: leaning forward in eager expectation, then leaning back in trusting the Lord- back and forth, back and forth…

  3. Lauren says:

    Oops…just went back to reread your post and you said exactly what i said! Sorry to copy you! I think it does imply waiting FOR something.

  4. Lauren says:

    and beautiful post, by the way!!

Leave a Reply

