I do love a tote bag

I love making tote bags. Normally once I try a pattern I’m all done with it. But not tote bags. They are just so customizable. And easy. And quick. Really, the recipe for sewing success for me: easy+customizable+quick=sewing I like.

Now let me go off on a seemingly unrelated tangent for a moment… when my grandmother passed away several years ago (or almost 10 years ago), my aunt became the keeper of the textiles. She had mountains of tablecloths, napkins, table runners, doilies, you name it. If it could be embroidered, crocheted, or tatted, she probably had at least one or two. And some of this stuff was beautiful. And some of it was, ummm, well-used is a good term for it (stained and kinda beat up is probably a bit more accurate).

Fast forward to this summer. My aunt consolidated two homes, and in the process needed to divest herself of some of these textiles. And she graciously offered some to me. Of course I took them… in all their glory. What exactly I was going to do with embroidered, crocheted, and tatted table things wasn’t entirely clear. So I put them in a drawer.

But remember, this post is about tote bags (see where I’m going with this?) and, you got it… I was able to snip some of that embroidery and machine cross-stitch it to canvas to create a new use for that old textile. And it looks pretty good. I used a cool Japanese floral print to line the bag. I like the contrast of the more modern flowers with the old-fashioned embroidered ones.

And then, because it’s Christmas time, I put a bottle of wine in it and wrapped it up as a Christmas gift.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I do love a tote bag

  1. kristin ebersold says:

    I love it. Great job. Did you come up w/ the pattern or buy one? I’m still just beginning to dabble a bit & feel so proud when I make even the littlest thing…but usually I screw it up 🙂

    • I based it on the simple tote in Angry Chicken’s Bend the Rules Sewing. I changed the size, left out the facing, and added the embellishment to the front panel, but her instructions were what I used. It’s a good book if you don’t have it (might make a good Christmas gift) 🙂

Leave a Reply

