Resolutions

I had a conversation with some friends earlier today. We were discussing New Year resolutions (and yes, there may have been some drinks involved. But that’s another story).

Anyway…

Resolutions. I used to make the typical ones: quit smoking, quit drinking (too much), exercise every day. Luckily those aren’t still concerns (except perhaps the exercise) so it’s time to find new resolutions.

On the one hand, I think resolutions are a little silly. Usually I make them and forget them all in about 72 hours. I also have the fortunate reality that I must constantly be striving to learn more, be more. Being a parent is always challenging, but being a parent to Jett means I’m always trying to be more patient, more consistent, more reasonable. The nice side effect of that effort is, of course, that those are pretty good traits to have in the rest of my life as well. ***Disclaimer – I often fail. Ask J. He’ll tell you.***

So resolutions… my friends inspired me. Instead of the regular stuff, I heard things like “embrace”. More of a motto than a resolution. And that’s something I can get behind. So I think for 2011 I am going to try to have a year of community. I am going to try my best to be intentional about the relationships in my life. I still don’t want to over-schedule. But I want to make sure the people who matter most have a regular appearance in the day/week/month/year.

So there you go. I’m still not promising to exercise everyday. I do have to be realistic after all.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Grown People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Resolutions

  1. Pingback: 2012 resolutions, or how to kick anxiety on it’s butt | More Like Average Mom

Leave a Reply

