Happy Birthday Carlos

Carlos turned 5 this week. My exuberant, cheerful, never sits still, boy is 5. Where did the time go?

Anyway, to celebrate the big event we had a party. And what a party it was. It was delayed 3 times due to bad weather and illness here at the house, but when it finally happened, oh what an event! We rented 2 bounce houses for the yard, and invited our neighborhood friends, plus Carlos’ preschool class. At one point we counted 35+ children. For two hours kids bounced, ate cake, drank juice, and watched Carlos open presents.

Carlos is similar to J and I in that he is a raging extrovert. He did just fine with the chaos and attention. His poise during the singing of “Happy Birthday” surprised even me.

Jett, on the other hand, doesn’t enjoy a party. We are coming to discover that groups are a trigger for him. Even on the playground at school he functions best when just playing with one other kid. When people started to arrive for the party Jett reminded me of a nervous dog. He paced and circled me until I finally sent him away to get a snack. After about 40 minutes he asked if he could go to his room and play his Nintendo DS. I was happy to say yes.

Jett joined the party for cake and to watch his brother open presents. The rest of the party he was in his room with the door shut. And the party was a success for all our family. A year or two ago I wouldn’t have allowed Jett to retreat from the party. I would have thought it “too unfriendly”. Also, a year or two ago, I wouldn’t have attempted to have this party at our home.

I guess we have both matured.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Crunchy Stuff, Kids, Mothering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Birthday Carlos

  1. akbutler says:

    Happy Birthday Carlos!
    I LOVED this post. and I loved what you said about the party being a success for your whole family. It is SO hard to give up our notions of what a party should be, but you are an amazing mom for understanding ALL your kids and what they want and need and giving them the space to be them.
    long run on sentence there, but I just wanted you to know how impressed I was by that.

  2. Lauren says:

    Happy birthday, cousin!!!! Loved this post, J. Way to understand your kiddos!!!

  3. Noel says:

    Love this post and the photo is perfect – so glad the Nintendo came in handy, too. (Smiles.) What a wonderful birthday experience for everyone.

Leave a Reply

