No poo, day three

I miss the smell of shampoo. It’s my biggest beef with natural laundry detergent, and the reason I still use Pine Sol to clean my house. I like fragrance, even if it is chemically simulated.

So my hair yesterday was fine. By the end of the day it was looking a little lank, but no more so than when I skip a day of regular shampooing. The biggest issue was the smell. Without those chemical flowers, my hair took on much more of the atmosphere smells. And since I dripped something on the bottom of the oven while cooking dinner, my hair smelled like it used to when I waited tables and came home smelling vaguely of fryer oil.

So into the shower I went for a faux-poo (I am using baking soda and the chamomile tea/vinegar concoction after all). And my hair is sticky, y’all. There is no way I could be a heroine in a romance novel. No man could run his fingers through my flaxen tresses at this stage of the game. I’m really unsure how to describe it, except to say my hair feels gummy when it’s wet. The “washing” process is fairly unpleasant.

Though still no tangles. Surprising given the way the hair feels when it’s wet. I’m hoping this is the detox stage I hear about, and the gummy feeling goes away. That could be a deal breaker for me.

I’m going to swing by Whole Foods today and pick up some essential oils to add to my “conditioning” vinegar rinse. Can I do that? Or will it make my hair more sticky? Guess I better research it before I go.

That’s my update. Signing off til later.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Crunchy Stuff, Grown People and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No poo, day three

  1. Bree says:

    You crack me up! So glad you’re trying this so I don’t have to. I just explained the no-poo process to Dr. Reue and he wanted me to tell you- “that’s gross.” xoxo

  2. cupcakebandita says:

    Hi! My detox stage lasted about 2 weeks. I used to have the kind of oily hair that had to be washed everyday. I only used the acv/tea (I used mint tea) rinse on my ends. I didn’t use the vinegar every time. I found this was what was making my hair feel “oily” and gummy. As the weather became dryer I found that the baking soda concoction was making my hair dry and very unmanageable. I would comb my hair and then try to comb it again just to find it tangled again. I hadn’t even moved! I decided to try out the Dr. Bronner’s soap. It doesn’t have any of the harmful lathering agents and has the nice smell you (and I) miss. I bought the lavender one. This is day 2 on the Dr. Bronner’s soap and I like it. I’ve read a lot about no-poo and I guess you really have to find what works best for you.

Leave a Reply

