I’m going to homeschool (and I blame Rick Perry)

Last year was the year of stuff happening to us. This is the year of decisions. One of the first major decisions is, of course, deciding to homeschool Jett and Carlos next school year (2011/2012).

My blood pressure no longer rises dangerously when I say it, nor do I sprint for the liquor cabinet. I’d say I’m adjusting well to the idea.

What does Rick Perry have to do with my decision? Our local school district (and most of the state) are in a budget crisis unlike nothing in the past. They are being asked to cut millions, in our case more than 100 million, from their budget. This from a state who already underfunds education. Texas general education is ranked 43rd in the nation, and special education ranks 49th. Texas only does better than Mississippi when it comes to educating our special needs population.

So add in the social dramas at school and the schedule (oh how I abhor the schedule) we are going to take a year off.

We’ve been discussing what we want our year of home education to look like, and Carlos wanted to know if we were going to have to pick up the house before or after recess. Hmmm… that’s not a bad idea.

I signed up for our local homeschooling list serve, and have been shocked at the resources out there. There are so many curriculum, instead of having to pick from a limited few, my work will be in deciding which of the many will work best for us.

And the groups… oh the groups. There are co-ops that meet. There are lessons of every type. The language options I have seen in the last two days alone are Chinese, Japanese, Russian, Latin, and Spanish. Horse back riding lessons, anyone? Want to work on a working farm a few hours a week? Tinkering school?

When I described the co-op concept to Jett he balked. In his words: “I just want to be home with you and Carlos”. Yes dear, but mommy needs people. And really, so do you.

I’m getting excited (as hard as that is to believe). And it’s only for a year. I can do anything for a year, right?

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Kids, Mothering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m going to homeschool (and I blame Rick Perry)

  1. I firmly believe you can do it. Not only that, I think you will grow to love it and the freedom to design your children’s learning environment. There are a ton of great resources out there and I have given thought to doing this for Sydney, even though I used to think people who home schooled their kids were all religious right-wing zealots (I realize now how close-minded that was of me). I’m right there with you in blaming the current governor, but I’ll add George in there with him.

  2. Cheryl Vaughan says:

    Julie, homeschooling is a big decision. This is my sixth year homeschooling my girls. You are right, there are many resources available. More than I ever dreamed!! We are involved in a homeschool co-op that meets weekly. My girls love it. They have access to classes that I would not be able to offer on my own and they look forward to seeing their friends. In addition, we have more time for extracurricular activities without sacrificing family time. I’d be happy to pass on whatever contacts and resources I know of. Just email me if you want any information. Blessings in your new adventure. I know you will do great.

  3. Good luck!!!! I’m going to be following closely to see how things go/which curriculum you choose because I’m (hopefully) heading down the homeschooling path, at least at first.

    And I feel ya on the budget situation. My husband is the director of finance for one of the Texas agencies, and their budget was cut by 1/3. It’s causing more than a bit of chaos in our life now.

  4. You’re making a great choice. I ‘yanked’ my kids out of public schools, although not for exactly the same reasons. Either way, there is nothing like the exhilaration of knowing that your kids won’t be a part of any ‘system’ other than your home and what you choose for them. It’s awesome! And exhausting! But so rewarding. Hats off to you for taking the step.

  5. Rebecca Hall says:

    You go, girl! You’ll be awesome. We can do stuff on Mondays!

  6. Pingback: Right Wing News: Giant Snow Storm To Hit US: Guess What’s To Blame? | Katy Pundit

  7. Lauren says:

    YEA for decisions!!! Can’t wait to see how the experiment goes!

  8. You’ll do great, and my guess is that the kids will thrive. I know a lot of kids (now in college, with scholarships) who were home schooled, and they’re so mature it’s spooky. I wish my son could homeschool my granddaughter. Not so easy when you’re a single parent.
    And the resources out there are AMAZING! Have you checked out Semester at Sea (for the future, of course)?

  9. fiona2107 says:

    You are going to be amazing. I just know it!

    Wishing you all the best for your great adventure 🙂

Leave a Reply

