Sleep when you’re dead

I’ve always considered myself lucky when it came to sleep and my children. Once we got them sleeping through the night as babies, we haven’t had many problems. Sure, they had the occasional nightmare or coughing fit, but other than that all three of them were the sleep 11-12 hours a night kinda kids. With a 2-3 hour nap each afternoon.

****And yes, I do realize I’m dodging some hateful cyber-glares and thrown coffee cups from some of you who haven’t been so similarly blessed.****

But now things are different, at least with Jett. I first noticed it Christmas Eve, when he was so anticipatory of the Santa experience he worked himself into a nice bout of insomnia. Since then he has remarked several mornings that he was unable to sleep the night before. Of course, in his mind, he was “up all night” (read this in a very dramatic tone).

Last night, he ended up in my bed for several hours in the middle of the night. I had him read a book on prayer, thinking it would put him to sleep (let’s face it – I often fall asleep praying!) But no such luck. And after reading a few pages he asked if he could go get his Pokemon book. Ummm… I don’t think so!

Several friends have recommended melatonin. I’m going to ask the pediatrician what she recommends. The other concern is exactly how much sleep is he missing? Because when I check on him before I go to bed, he’s always asleep. And sure, some days he is tired. But isn’t that true for all of us?

So I’m asking you, the community, what do you do for kids who sometimes have trouble sleeping? And when do you decide there is a problem? Everyone suffers occasional insomnia, right?

Should I be concerned or should I just let sleeping dogs lie?

 

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Kids, Mothering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sleep when you’re dead

  1. I can’t remember ever telling my parents that I was up all night or couldn’t sleep until I was well into my teens, and then it was a hormonal thing. My son rarely said it as he was growing up, but my granddaughter (age 10) says it regularly. Like you, though, I check her every few hours, and she’s out like a light. However, her dreams are vivid and she remembers most of them, so my guess is she’s imagining that she was literally awake then too.
    Occasionally her dad gives her melatonin, but 99% of the time she’s asleep before he can get it to her.

  2. Noel says:

    My daughter sleeps VERY heavily once I get her down, which is appropriate since the first 4 years of her life were mainly sleep deprived for me. We have set schedule and warm milk often helps tremendously. She also falls asleep better on her own when I put sprout on the tv in her room. I know this practice isn’t approved of by everyone, but as a single parent, Sprout is VERY helpful for our nighttime schedule. And yes, ask a doctor about melatonin and other natural cures.

Leave a Reply

