No poo, final update

It’s been more than two weeks since I started the no-poo experiment, and I’m glad to say it’s now a non-issue. My hair looks fine using the baking soda/apple cider vinegar rinse.

When I last posted, I mentioned adding essential oil to my routine to make my hair smell better. Bad idea. It did in fact smell better, but it was coated with, well, oil. Yuck.

The only change I’ve really noticed is my hair is completely tangle free. When I get out of the shower, I can run a comb through it with no problem. And that’s much different from any other time in my life. But other than that, this has been an almost non-event.

So to sum it up:

Wash with 1 tablespoon baking soda dissolved in a bit of warm water. Massage that into my head for about a minute. Rinse

Spray solution of chamomile tea (2 cups tea mixed with 1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar stored in a spray bottle). Rinse

That’s it.

I achieved the goal of not using chemicals on my head. Great. I suppose there is a financial gain as well, but since shampoo and conditioner are only 1.5% of my monthly grocery budget, I’m not all that concerned. Plus everyone else still uses shampoo, so I’m still buying it. I did try the baking soda thing on Jett because he was curious. Fail. 7-year-old boys get too darn dirty with actual dirt to not use soap on their skulls. I have switched to castille soap for all the kids for both their bodies and hair, and that seems to be working just fine.

All in all, it was a successful experiment. Now I’m ready to quit thinking about my hair every moment of the day.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Crunchy Stuff, Grown People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No poo, final update

  1. kim says:

    I am glad you wrote about this! I had considered doing it in the past, but was worried it wouldn’t work for me and I was concerned about looking shabby…This convinced me to give it a go, especially the tangle part..So far so good. I like it. E is going to try it out too. I was wondering if use it for Letty?

Leave a Reply

