Homeschooling even though I’m not a Bible-believing Christian (or a hippy)

I’ve been reading a ton (or at least 3 or 4) of books lately about homeschooling. I do like to be prepared when I take something on. Mostly I’ve been reading introduction to homeschooling books. It’s shocking how little information there is at our public library. I went last week and only found two books. The first was an Introduction to Homeschooling book written in the Dummy Series style. It informed me that there are two main groups of homeschooling mothers: Bible-believing Christians and hippies or ex-hippies.

Hmm.

I’m a Christian. But I’m fairly sure that adding those two words “Bible-believing” excludes me from her group, as my religious views are probably way too progressive to be considered “Bible-believing”. In fact, I’m pretty sure I’m vaguely insulted as a Christian by those words. Jews, Muslims, and progressive Christians aren’t allowed to homeschool? Or have to be hippies or former hippies to do so?

But my religious views aren’t the point of this post.

The point of this post is the search for curriculum. There is so much out there. The best book I have seen so far is 100 Top Picks for Homeschool Curriculum by Cathy Duffy.¬† The first 4 chapters of this book are dedicated to helping the teacher/parent determine goals of homeschool, learning styles of parent and child, and which educational style is most appealing. Since I know nothing about educational styles this was really helpful to me. The rest of the book helps the reader match curriculum to the learning and educational style of the family. Since the book was written in 2005, some of the curriculum may be outdated, but I’m sure I can find examples of curriculum that will appeal to me.

The biggest question I’m facing currently is whether or not I stick with a traditional curriculum. It’s the category I scored the lowest on in the quiz of educational types that appeal to me, though parts of it are appealing. It’s the most like public school, and if we decide to re-enter public school in a year or two these types of curriculum are the most like that system and the easiest assimilation back into that institution.

On the other hand, unit studies and the Charlotte Mason approach appeal to my spontaneous nature. (But would they conflict with Jett’s love of routine?)

Lots of questions right now. And fortunately, the availability of lots of answers. This is a path that feels right.

And I don’t have to be a hippy or a Bible-believing Christian to do it.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Mothering and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homeschooling even though I’m not a Bible-believing Christian (or a hippy)

  1. Mama Pickles says:

    Thank you for this book suggestion. I will have to check our library. My husband and I are trying to decide if we will homeschool our son once he has finished his early childhood class. We live in a large city with not the best schools. We would move to the suburbs, but my husband’s job requires he lives in the city. We still have one more year in the EC program, so I am trying to do all of my research now so we will be well informed when decision time arrives.

  2. Don’t be discouraged if you can’t find books about homeschooling that fit. Home schooling is so unique to each individual family. Jump in the deep end, figure out what works for your kids first, and the ‘name” of the educational theory will follow later. Hope you do it b/c home-schooling is super fun!

Leave a Reply

