I do believe the Bible

Some of you were quite concerned about the title of my latest post, and even though I’ve been taught not to discuss religion or politics, I will try and clear up any misconceptions. (Plus I’ve been struck down by a flu-like virus, and I’m concerned it’s from the nature of my heretical remarks. Just kidding. I think.)

I believe the Bible is both reverently and historically significant. Do I think it’s the literal breath-of-God-to-man’s-pen-on-paper? No. But neither do lots of people including most Catholics, Episcopalians, Presbyterians, and possibly some Methodists.

Where my panties get in a wad, so to speak, are the homeschooling books admonishing me to beware of curriculum teaching Darwinism, and only teach creationism for science. This is especially true in the Classical Education manuals, which I have been reading (and liking up to that point).

So my plan is to teach science: biology (including Darwinism), chemistry, physics, and life sciences as age appropriate.

I will teach the story of the 7 Day Creation as part of Bible study – a significant story, but not literal truth.

If you are curious who shaped my theological views, check out Marcus Borg here and here. I have read several of his books, and they, along with the teachings of the Episcopal Church, have helped shape my adult Christian formation.

Well there. Now I’ve gone and laid it all out there. Hopefully this will alleviate some of the funny looks next time I’m at church.

And maybe it will help cure this dang flu.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Mothering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I do believe the Bible

  1. Christine says:

    Are the Episcopalians looking at you funny for home-schooling with a bunch of literalists who just aren’t PC? or rather TC (theologically correct)?

  2. Lauren says:

    OK just saw this!!!!! Did you know there’s a difference between evolution and Darwinism? I just discovered this several months ago. I believe in evolution- but not darwinism. Catholics are free to believe in creationism or evolution- but not Darwin’s theory.

    Anyway thanks for the clarifying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

