Sharing is not always the best policy

I had the opportunity to watch my family this weekend as if I were on the Truman Show. Remember that movie? I have vague recollections of it putting real life on TV. Or something.

Anyway, my own situation went something like this: mommy flat on her back, fever, massive headache and body aches, unable to do anything other than lay there and moan. For more than several days. Barring major surgery, I haven’t been this sick in more than a decade.

While I was laying there miserable I was able to contemplate exactly how the germs make their way through our house. Because my family, especially my children, have no personal boundaries whatsoever.

  • Letty is the clean up crew. Any half eaten food or partially drunk cup is her domain.
  • Carlos just wants to drink my water. All the time. He is too short to reach the kitchen sink, and too lazy to get the stool. He would rather drink from my ever present cup.
  • Jett just feels bad that I’m sick. So he wants to sit next to me and hold my hand.

Now, it goes without saying that J and the boys all have this insidious virus. I have never seen Jett so sick. He actually took 3 naps today. He didn’t even nap the day he had teeth pulled and narcotics streaming through his blood. Carlos is also sick, but he is sick often enough that this is old hat to him. He can suffer through a 103-104 fever better than any kid I know. Though he was up fairly often last night with those horrible fever dreams/nightmares. And he’s a chatterbox, even when ill. I much prefer Jett’s stoic suffering in silence. It’s more effective too. I keep offering all sorts of things to Jett I never would if he were well: red jello, sprite, Girl Scout Cookies.

I can only hope the kid version of this is shorter than the adult version. Letty hasn’t gotten it yet, and I don’t want to have this going through the house for another two weeks. I already tried to send J and the boys to a hotel so the house can fumigate. I thought that was a great idea. Too bad I’m the only one.

Maybe I should go to the hotel. Enjoy room service until everyone here is well again. Now that’s an idea.

 

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Kids, Mothering and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sharing is not always the best policy

  1. akbutler says:

    go to the hotel!! 🙂 I hope your house feels better soon

Leave a Reply

