Homework Blues

I had my first experience with the homework blues yesterday. Jett is usually eager to do school work (how did I get so lucky??) and his teacher has the brilliant philosophy that kids need… wait for it… family and play time after 7 hours at school, not more worksheets. Like I said, Brilliant!

However, Jett has a mental block when it comes to regrouping (adding and subtracting numbers while carrying and borrowing). His teacher sent home some math he wouldn’t complete in class, and I got to witness first hand the massive frustration kids sometimes get with homework.

There was pencil throwing. There was storming out of the room. There was yelling (mine and his).

Homeschool next year? I must be crazy.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Kids, Mothering and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Homework Blues

  1. We have full on tears over homework at least one day a week.

  2. lee says:

    wonder if you can find other ways of doing the same math problems so that there might be another method that works better for him. i remember seeing an amazing youtube video about how japanese do multiplication and my father taught me different methods when i was young too. i love the montessori method of teaching math which is more tangible and easier to understand. why do they say “4 squared”? because it’s actually in a shape of a square with the exact quantity of the answer, and a number “cube” is shown as a cube! or maybe you buy an abacus!

Leave a Reply

