Welcome to the Jungle

I had a surprise in my mailbox today. It was a fat envelope from Jett’s school. Vaguely concerned that I would get such a hefty letter I took it in and ripped it open. It was the final evaluation results from the school psychologist. In Texas, to qualify for special education services, a child must be evaluated by a team of educators, and the process can take almost an entire school year.

The upshot of that 10 page report?

Test results are consistent with reports that he exhibits many of the symptoms of an autism spectrum disorder, and Asperger’s Disorder seems to be an accurate diagnosis. The symptoms of that disorder impact his educational performance and his coping at school sufficiently to warrant a diagnosis of autism for educational purposes.

I really wanted to laugh and cry at those lines. On the one hand, I’m so glad Jett will start getting services to make school a bit easier for him. On the other hand, what parent wants to read the words autism and their child’s name in the same sentence?

Through this process I have met other parents with kids in the special education program at our elementary school. These parents are so giving of their time and resources. They are generous in their offers to help me navigate these waters they have learned themselves. This is a community for whom normal is redefined.

And now I am an official member of that community.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

