Eat your veggies now

When spring rolls around everyone seems to revel in the renewal of life. And since I’m past renewing life *that* way (I have plenty of babies, thankyouverymuch) I like to garden.

But I’m no good at it.

My past gardening efforts have resulted in a fine-looking garden that I dutifully water (yes, I’ve learned that lesson) but so far the bounty has been slim. I have only mastered basil, arugula, jalapenos, and cherry tomatoes. And only in quantities large enough for a snack. For one person.

So this week I signed us up for a community supported agriculture (CSA) box from a local farm. For a small cost – $32, we receive, on a weekly or bi-weekly basis, a box of local, organic veggies. J picked up our first box this week and this is what he brought home.

In case the picture isn’t clear, that box contained

  • 1 head broccoli
  • 1 bunch carrots
  • 2 yellow squash
  • 2 zucchini
  • 2 pattypan squash
  • 1 bunch basil
  • 1 bunch mint
  • 3 onions
  • 2 sweet peppers
  • 5 banana peppers
  • 4 jalapenos
  • 2 heads purple cabbage
  • 2 turnips
  • 3 heads of lettuce
  • 1 cucumber

I know. I’m overwhelmed, too.

I already gave some of it away. The turnips were out of here the first night. Same with the squash (I HATE squash). The peppers I’m on the fence about…I don’t really like them, but I live in Texas and feel I really should give them a fighting chance. If we had a state veggie, peppers would be it.

I made bread today with the zucchini and a couple of the carrots. Then I whipped up some strawberry butter to go with it (thank you, Martha Stewart). The kids and I chowed on that with dinner, and I’m looking forward to it for breakfast too.

And the rest of it? I don’t know. Though one use is clear: Mojitos, anyone?

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Grown People and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eat your veggies now

  1. Shelly says:

    Um, yes on that Mojito … tell me when and I’ll be there.

  2. Emily says:

    Chris and I did this for a while and loved it! The food is really good and it forced both of us to try a lot of new things we probably wouldn’t have ordinarily tried since we wanted to incorporate all of our new ingredients into a recipe. We recently quit, however, when we got a Sprouts nearby. The only draw-back I saw to the produce co-op was that often times we would find ourselves craving a banana, say, and if bananas didn’t come in the bunch that week, well, then we would have to make an extra trip to go get some….and then feel guilty that we weren’t eating the fruit that came in that week. But, overall, we loved it! Happy adventersome eating!!

Leave a Reply

