They can’t all be about Autism

I started this blog a little more than a year ago as a way to chronicle my life with my kids. A Mommy Blog, if you will. After Jett was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome about a year ago, it quickly morphed into an Autism Blog. Since living with a kid on the spectrum has dominated my parenting over the last year, it makes sense that my mommy blog has concentrated so much on being a mom to Jett. And as I have lived into this new definition of my motherhood, I’ve blogged a bit less. I hate to say I’m comfortable with his diagnosis, but it is no longer overwhelming me as much as it did. It’s no longer the focus of many of my conversations.

(Homeschooling has taken its place…I’m scared to death!)

But I digress.

We still have bad days. But I also have those with Carlos and Letty. Jett still struggles mightily on the social front, but that’s ongoing. Our family is finally becoming bigger than Autism. I’m sure I will still blog about our trials and tribulations, but hopefully they will encompass more than this one issue. I told Carlos and Letty the pressure is on: I need more to write about. So come on, kids…get to work!

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Kids, Mothering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

