Moving, chores, and McDonald’s

Turns out when “they” say buying and selling houses is one of the most stressful things you can do, they are right. Our house is under contract, and we have found a new one. Hopefully we will be moving in a little less than a month. Yikes.

Moving coupled with the end of school/start of summer sure does make life interesting. And by interesting I mean crazy. And by crazy I mean… well you get it.

The memories of the start of last summer are still painful. So this summer we started a bit differently. I swallowed my hatred of the schedule, and we actually designed not only a routine (I refuse to call it a schedule) we also developed a chore chart. The chore chart comes from a book I am reading that is literally CHANGING MY LIFE. It’s called How to Teach Life Skills to Kids with Autism or Asperger’s by Jennifer McIlwee Myers. The author is an Aspie herself, and she writes like she is talking to you directly. The chapters are short, direct, and full of great information. And they are saying exactly what I need to hear.

The irony is I bought this book 9 months ago on the recommendation of a friend. But you know, that was when I had my head stuck firmly in the sand regarding Jett’s diagnosis, and I didn’t learn anything about spectrummy stuff for quite some time. The ironic part? The first chapter the author tells parents of kids on the spectrum to suck it up and deal with it. Yes, parenting an Aspie is hard. But parenting is hard, and the author firmly subscribes to the pay now or pay more later theory of parenting.

Where you choose to stand, as a parent, can be the difference between independence and permanent, childlike dependence for your child. Scares the heck out of most people. Life is like that.

Because of this book, we are not only implementing the chore chart, we are making McDonald’s part of our summer routine. And before I lose my cred as a clean-eating semi-hippie, while we are at McDonald’s Jett will be ordering and paying for his own meal. Talking to strangers isn’t his favorite thing, so what better than his favorite restaurant to motivate him to learn how to secure food for himself while out in the world?

Like anything else I do, I’m approaching all this with caution and a small bit of laziness. I thought about the chore chart for a week before I actually made one. But I’m going to keep on trying. After all, I’m asking him to do the same. It’s only fair I reciprocate.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome, Kids, Mothering and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

