Let the (home)schooling begin!

It’s been quite a while since I’ve posted to this blog. Moving, along with the other stresses of our lives these last two years, dried up my words. But I’ve lain awake the last two nights making up blog posts in my head, so it seems it’s time to start again. If only I could remember those sleepy (and oh so brilliant!) words. Oh well, I’ll just make do.

Our house is settled. The boxes are unpacked. We even have some pictures hanging on the wall.

We’ve explored the neighborhood by bike as much as we can.

It has been more than 100 degrees here for almost two and a half months. The heat is oppressive. It hasn’t rained in so long the sight of our still green front lawn (thanks to an irrigation system) causes more guilt than pride. Everywhere we look the ground is baked, dry, brown.

And in this climate, school started this week.

The books have been rolling in for the last month. Math, science, history. Grammar, spelling, phonics, and handwriting. We have a room and bookshelf dedicated to our learning. We painted the room a cheery yellow, and hung curtains in anticipation.

But wow, what a disaster reality was.

The academics were fine. Enjoyable, even. The logistics, on the other hand, were just plain terrible. Letty was a complete distraction. Jett misses visiting with his friends (oh the irony). Carlos wants to zoom through his phonics book faster than I can keep up. Both boys want to do science every day, and at the rate they want to pursue it, we will finish a year’s curriculum by Thanksgiving.

I forgot to give myself a break, and by Thursday was a crying mess, sure I was a failure.

After a weekend of regrouping (and encouragement from friends and family), I’m ready to try again.

Suffice it to say, I never imagined I would learn this much, too, from our homeschooling adventure. I’ve always assumed teachers had all the answers. I never realized they were also learning, trying to figure out the best way to teach this or that. The best way to manage a classroom of kids in different places academically, socially, and emotionally. It seems small and pitiful to say I have a new respect for teachers. But it’s true, in a profound way I’ve never known how to mean before.

So come on Monday.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Let the (home)schooling begin!

  1. Jenny says:

    So good to see you blogging again, and about such an important revelation. Yea!

  2. Lauren says:

    I know all about writing brilliant blog posts while laying in bed! 🙂

    I”m so sorry this first week has been so challenging! But am hoping that though you jumped in with both feet and felt the shock of the cold water, you’ll soon realize you’re not cold anymore and are rather enjoying yourself!!!

    Here’s to a great week!!! (and a break soon to come!)

  3. Christine says:

    Yeah! Great post! Hang in there, ’cause you are doing great!

Leave a Reply

