Feeding a homeschooling family

It’s dinner time again. And once again I’m too tired to want to work very hard in the kitchen.

We went to a museum today on a field trip to an Ancient Egypt exhibit. We had a great time, and I was blown away by how much fun we had, AND how much learning we did. But the museum was an hour and a half from our house, and by the time we got home around 4:00, I was too tired to do much thinking about dinner.

Last night I had the brilliant idea to make a double batch of dinner (calzones) and feed us the extra tonight. Then, a mishap in leftover storage left us with no dinner.

Fast forward to this afternoon. I’m scanning Facebook, because, really, isn’t that the best way to decompress?. I notice several of my friends have “liked” a page: Crock Pot Girls.

The crock pot is clearly in fashion (again). The Crock Pot Girls Facebook page has over 800,000 “likes”. Recipes are getting posted so quickly they recommend taking a screen shot of it if you want to make it in case you can’t find it again.

I get it. The crock pot makes dinner a snap. You stick everything in, turn it on, then come back to a (hopefully) delicious dinner. In theory the crock pot is brilliant. Dinner is easy and most the time tasty. Why don’t I use it every night?

Clean up is a nightmare.

Imagine every baked on, greasy, pan you’ve ever had to scrub. Cleaning the crock pot is a chore.

I read on Crock Pot Girls Facebook page Reynolds makes a crock pot liner, similar to their oven bags. Fans swear it makes clean up a breeze. But I hesitate. It’s more plastic in the landfill, and I question the safety of cooking my food in plastic. We don’t even microwave in plastic containers, yet I’m supposed to cook food for 6-8 hours in plastic?

It’s a dilemma, and one to which I will give more thought (and welcome suggestions from any of you). The prospect of an easy dinner sure does make me hungry.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Homeschooling, Mothering and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Feeding a homeschooling family

  1. Christy says:

    I’ve been using the liners for a couple of years now. It does make clean up a breeze and we haven’t croaked yet.

  2. Dearna says:

    I rub butter all over the crock-pot before I add anything which fixes it (unless of course you are GF/DF.Maybe oil?

  3. Dearna says:

    Just another thought and I am not sure how it would work but could you line it somehow with baking/cooking paper?

  4. kristin says:

    Soak it overnight & drink a glass (or four) of wine instead of scrubbing. I’ve got a pretty simple yummy curry chicken/cous cous recipe I made last night….took 20-30 min, but not a ton of hands on time….was a hit w/ the whole fam. Want it? I do whole chickens in the crockpot & that’s super easy….throw it in w/ nothing else (if I’m feeling extra lazy) & it’s done in the afternoon….doesn’t even leave a horrible pot. Kudos to you for being an awesome, engaged mama.

  5. Lauren says:

    The crockpot liners ARE nice- but I haven’t used them- or my crockpot- since I’ve gone “au-naturale”….haha.

    I always think crockpot recipes sound great and they smell divine, but the taste NEVER lives up to the aroma! Do you find that? If you find a good recipe let me know! It sounds like a great idea for you as a homeschooling mama!

  6. Mama Pickles says:

    I’ve been using crock pot liners for almost 5 years now and we’re still ok. For now. 🙂 I just used one tonight actually. I cooked a whole chicken. Took off the skin and put some poultry seasoning, salt, and pepper and it cooked all day. It was so moist and yummy. Then I threw all the bones back in, added 8 cups of water and made some chicken broth to freeze for cooler days.

Leave a Reply

