Thanks, Purell

Yesterday we spent almost seven hours in the car. To say Jett was disregulated* is an understatement.

*new term I learned from a parenting book I’m reading. Regulated vs disregulated. Descriptive, yet non-judgemental. I like it.

So anyway, there we were. In a motel after a full day in the car. One child literally bouncing on the furniture (One thing we have learned about Carlos on this trip is an ADHD diagnosis would not be surprising. But like Scarlet O’Hara, I will think about that tomorrow.)

Jett was not bouncing. He had crawled under the covers of the bed and was refusing to come out to go to dinner.

We finally made it to Chick-Fil-A.
Jett gathered a handful of those packets of Purell wipes. Then he smoothed each one out, using his index finger to erase each crease. Then he carefully wiped his entire hand across the surface. When questioned he responded he was getting the liquid out. After about ten wipes, he gathered his trash and then ate his dinner.

I suppose those Purell wipes somehow helped him get regulated. I’ve never seen it before.

At least his hands were clean.

About morelikeaveragemom

I'm a stay home mom with 3 kids. I am simply figuring it out as I go.
This entry was posted in Autism / Asperger Syndrome and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

